#Blendkit 2016 Module 3

This week’s question is: “How Will You Know if  Students are Learning?”

Put most simply and harshly, these are college and university students. Whether or not they learn is entirely up to them.  But, of course, this is far too simple, and far too harsh.

Because my classes are small (fewer than ten at Tainan Theological College and usually under twenty at Moatao Campus of Aletheia University, I will be able to read written or listen to audio submissions entirely between the time that they are due and the time that Face to Face sessions begin.  I plan to rely on my own memory and handwritten record- keeping to know if students have submitted assignments at all. My perhaps naive belief that they will learn by doing the assignments, and that I can design the assignments with a view towards making them learning exercises (rather than merely seat work and demonstrations that they figured out which which pages to look at), will guide how I evaluate them.  Mainly my approach to marking things in the past has been to emphasize attendance and evidence of preparation, and to de-empasize submission of anything in writing other than exams.  Blended learning will change that by requiring more assignments to be submitted.

 

 

3 thoughts on “#Blendkit 2016 Module 3

  1. Yes, I have that “did they do the assignment” thing gnawing at me as some students have to work online while other schools and colleges have Spring Break.

    Like

  2. Interesting read. The statement about blended learning changing turn-in of written assignments other than exams really stood out for me. I think it’s important to require tangible projects/papers/etc. showing some mastery or at least understanding of content being taught in the classroom.

    Like

  3. Interesting read. The statement about turning in written assignments in addition to exams with Blended Learning really stood out. I think it’s important to engage people beyond just reading and trying to wing an exam, but submit proof of some mastery or at least understanding of the content being taught.

    Like

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

